I was surprised to realise that some of the the everyday components of the classrooms in my school, actually had elements of design.

One particular feature, the horizontal 2 tone painting of the classrooms, I attributed to a past principal’s attempt to keep the walls clean. I learnt from this reading that it  can induce calm, rest and stability and balances out the over height ceilings.

Horizontal lines painted in a classroom at my school
Horizontal lines painted in a classroom at my school

I also realised why the purchase or new rounded desk were aesthetically pleasing to teachers and staff in giving an inviting feel and calmness.The vibrant colours of the desks enhance the dynamics of the space.

Rounded, bright coloured desks in a Learning Space at my school
Rounded, bright coloured desks in a Learning Space at my school

The addition of a picture window in our library gives a green outlook that many students will sit and read next to.

Picture Window looking out to green spaces in a Learning Space at my school
Picture Window looking out to green spaces in a Learning Space at my school


Read, M. (2010). Contemplating design: listening to children’s preferences about classroom design. Creative Education, 2, 75 – 80

