I have seen some amazing Drama productions with companies that come to the school.

One in particular was Brainstorm productions that dealt with the issue of cyberbullying through a theatrical/drama performance.

Any one of us staff members present, could have given a lesson or talk on this issue. But the whole of Year 7 were completely  engaged without a single need to give any dirty looks or time outs

I was only supervising the production as was not involved in any pre or post discussion. I would have loved to have been involved in the students sharing experiences of the performance and I hope it opened dialogue between peers and families.

Which makes me question whether the incursion was an effective as it could have been?    Was there pre and post activities or was it so isolated in its execution that the desired outcomes were not impacted on the students?

Johnson, J. (2009). Beyond four walls: experiential and situated learning. Teacher. (198), 18-20.

